How to preview and publish your website

Preview and publish are two essential features in the Editor, making it possible for you to view your website on the various viewports and make it accessible for visitors.

Screen_Shot_2018-10-10_at_12.50.37.png 

Preview your website

You can preview your website at any time while working in the Editor. Preview is a great tool for checking what your website looks like and simulate the visitor browsing experience before publishing. It's also useful for making sure that elements you've implemented on your website look right on all three viewports; desktop, tablet, and mobile.

 

How to preview your website

You find the preview icon in the upper right corner of the Editor. To preview your website, click on the eye icon and a new window will open with a preview of your website.

When previewing your website, you're able to browse it on all three viewports side by side.

1__preview_p1.jpg

  Preview directly on desktop view

If you only want to preview your website on desktop view only, you have the option to go directly to the desktop preview by holding down the ALT key on your keyboard and pressing the preview button. 

 

Publish your website 

Your website will only be publicly visible after you've clicked the publish button. If you make any adjustments or add new content after clicking the publish button, the changes will only be visible to others when you publish the website again. This ensures that you can work on your website without having to publish your website and make it available to others before your changes are completed. 

 

How to publish your website 

You find the publish button in the upper right corner of the Editor. Click on the button to publish your website. Once you've clicked the publish button, an overlay will appear asking you if you're sure that you want to publish your site. 

Screen_Shot_2019-10-15_at_13.47.59.png

Upon clicking Publish, the Editor will start generating images on the published version of your website. This may take a while depending to the amount of images you have. Once images are generated, a URL for your published website will appear on the overlay. Your website is now successfully published. Click on the URL to go to your published website.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful